Take a look around and do something

Activities

Metropolis with international flair

Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Santa Cruz de Tenerife is the capital of the island of Tenerife. It is by no means a "metropolis", but it is a city that exudes an international metropolitan flair. With a little more than 200.000 inhabitants, it is also the largest city on Tenerife. The city is located directly on the sea on the northeast coast of Tenerife. With an area of ​​150,56 km² it lies directly on the Atlantic Ocean and is surrounded by the Macizo de Anaga mountains. The Plaza de España with its memorial to the fallen of the civil war is the point where the ships of the Castilian conquerors came in and is now a much-visited meeting point. The monumental parliament building of the Island Council, built in an eclectic style, also faces the sea. Not far from there rises a single bold building, white and curvy, the new auditorium (= concert hall) of Tenerife.

In the city center, the García Sanabria Park, with its more than 200 species of plants from all over the world, is a small, botanical garden embedded in the turbulent urban scenery. The Rambla runs right past García Sanabria, there and all over the Rambla you can marvel at some twenty open-air sculptures of contemporary art.

The Carnival of Santa Cruz is next to Rio de Janeiro the second largest in the world and therefore very popular internationally and nationally.

The tourist center of the north

Puerto de la Cruz

With over 32.000 inhabitants, Puerto de la Cruz is the sixth largest city in Tenerife in the municipality of the same name.
The city is located in the most fertile valley on the island, in the Orotava Valley - the green oasis in the north. The lush vegetation is due to the very mild climate. Among other things, there are huge banana plantations here.
The original charm of a sleepy fishing town can still be found in some corners. Puerto de La Cruz is worth a visit because of its pleasant location and the many sights.
If you walk along the beach promenade, you will come across volcanic rock or volcanic building foundations in different places. One example is the San Telmo Chapel, which was built on top of a black lava formation.
Do you like snorkeling? Then you can do it here, below the chapel. The bay of San Telmo is not only popular with vacationers. You can find cafes and bars nearby.

In Puerto de La Cruz you will also find two beaches that are easily accessible and suitable for swimming. On the one hand the beach Playa Jardín, which enchants with a splendor of flowers in the area and a view of the Teide and on the other hand the Playa Martianez. Painters and artists sit directly on the promenade, painting portraits of the holidaymakers or performing some tricks. Puerto de La Cruz has a lot to offer in terms of culture and festivals, as well as sights and leisure opportunities.

About the wine, old trees, lava tunnels and views

Icod de los Vinos

This small town is only 15 kilometers from Puerto de la Cruz. It lives from viticulture and that's why it got its name. Icod de los Vinos has over 24.000 inhabitants and is very easy to reach by car. So that the tourists also feel comfortable, nature was left as it is and not "expanded" as in other cities. There are magnificent pine forests around the city. From the terraced vineyards, the vast sea of ​​flowers is an unforgettable sight. In the midst of extensive green spaces in the city, you will find many historical buildings in the alleys that are also inviting to romance.
n Icod de los Vinos is said to be the oldest tree in the world, the dragon tree, also known as the "Drago Milenario". This tree is about 20 meters high and 6 meters in circumference. It is estimated at 600 to 800 years. The residents of Icod de los Vinos can also be proud of this tree. To honor him, a park garden was built around him so that visitors can linger there and relax.
The Cueva del Viento-Sobrado is also located in the municipality. It is the largest lava tube in Europe and is the fifth largest lava tube in the world after the four others in Hawaii. It is 17 kilometers long and there are numerous underground passages inside.
The Cueva del Viento was created by lava flows from the volcanic cone Pico Viejo next to the Teide. A lava tunnel is a cavity that is formed inside by lava flows.

Gigantic mountains. Rugged, wild and powerful

The Teno Mountains

The Teno Mountains (Spanish: Macizo de Teno) is a mountain range in the north-west of Tenerife. Geologically, the mountain range is one of the oldest parts of the island and rises to a height of 1345 meters. It emerged as an independent island 17 million years ago, as a result of the erosion only the relatively hard rock layers of reddish trachite remained, some of which are interspersed with younger basalt veins.

The mountains are criss-crossed by a large number of deep gorges (barrancos) of volcanic origin, which slope steeply to the coast, with height differences of more than 500 m often occurring at a very short distance.

The mountain range extends between the towns of Santiago del Teide, Los Silos, El Tanque and Buenavista del Norte on the coast. Within the mountains there are various small towns such as Masca, Teno Alto, Los Carrizales, El Palmar, Las Portelas and Las Lagunetas, whose inhabitants mainly practice traditional Canarian agriculture.

The mountains are well developed through several country roads with intercity buses.

Like from an earlier time

The Anaga Mountains

Deep gorges, lonely mountain ranges and in between the famous Mercedeswald, a jungle-like laurel forest. The Anaga Mountains represent a paradise for nature lovers. In the northeast of Tenerife, the rugged mountains stretch up to a height of 1.000 meters above sea level and create a unique landscape with a very special, subtropical climate.
The best way to discover the green and lush Anaga Mountains is on a hike and learn more about the extraordinary laurel forest on ancient paths. An experience of the botanical kind, which not only inspires convinced nature lovers and passionate hikers. The Anaga Mountains are one of the most pristine and most scenic regions of Tenerife and should not be missed during any stay.

The laurel forest or cloud forest of Anaga is probably unique in Europe and with its green, mossy trees, huge ferns and a partly dense foggy backdrop, creates a spooky atmosphere, especially on cloudy days. Here you can go hiking because of the pleasant freshness in the air.
If you want to experience wonderful nature and enjoy hiking, then the laurel forests in the Anaga Mountains are the right place for you. Fresh air and interesting, varied hiking trails guaranteed. The paths are well signposted and also developed.

Villa Larnia de Tenerife     Tel: +34 650 74 1990       Email: info@villalarnia.org

Schauen Sie sich doch etwas um und unternehmen Sie etwas

Activities

Metropole mit internationalem Flair

Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Santa Cruz de Tenerife ist die Hauptstadt der Insel Teneriffa. Es ist keine "Weltstadtmetropole", mitnichten, aber es ist eine Stadt, die ein internationales Großstadtflair ausstrahlt. Mit etwas mehr als 200.000 Einwohnern handelt es sich zudem um die größte Stadt auf Teneriffa. Die Stadt liegt direkt am Meer an der Nordost-Küste von Teneriffa. Mit einer Fläche von 150,56 km² liegt sie direkt am Atlantischen Ozeans, und wird vom Gebirge von Macizo de Anaga umrundet. Die Plaza de España mit ihrem Denkmal der Gefallenen des Bürgerkrieges ist der Punkt, an dem die Schiffe der kastilischen Eroberer einliefen und heute ein viel besuchter Treffpunkt. Das monumentale Parlamentsgebäude des Inselrates, im eklektischen Stil erbaut, ist ebenfalls zum Meer hin ausgerichtet. Nicht weit davon erhebt sich ein einzelnes kühnes Gebäude, weiß und kurvenreich, das neue Auditorium (=Konzerthalle) von Teneriffa.

Im Stadtzentrum ist der Park García Sanabria, mit seinen mehr als 200 Pflanzenarten aus aller Welt, ein kleiner, botanischer Garten eingebettet in die turbulente, städtische Szenerie. Die Rambla läuft dicht am García Sanabria vorbei, dort und auf der ganzen Rambla kann man einige zwanzig Freiluft-Skulpturen zeitgenössischer Kunst bestaunen.

Der Karneval von Santa Cruz ist neben Rio de Janeiro der zweit größte weltweit und daher international wie national sehr beliebt.

Das touristische Zentrum des Nordens

Puerto de la Cruz

Puerto de la Cruz ist mit über 32.000 Einwohnern die sechstgrößte Stadt von Teneriffa im gleichnamigen Gemeindegebiet.
Die Stadt liegt im fruchtbarsten Tal der Insel, im Orotava-Tal - die grüne Oase im Norden. Die üppige Vegetation ist dem sehr milden Klima zu verdanken. Unter anderem gibt es hier riesige Bananenplantagen.
Der ursprüngliche Reiz eines verschlafenen Fischerstädtchens ist an manchen Ecken noch zu finden. Puerto de La Cruz ist wegen der angenehmen Lage und den vielen Sehenswürdigkeiten eine Reise wert.
Geht man die Strandpromenade entlang, stößt man an unterschiedlichen Stellen auf Vulkangestein oder auch auf vulkanische Gebäudefundamente. Ein Beispiel ist die Kapelle San Telmo, die auf eine schwarze Lavaformation erbaut wurde.
Schnorcheln Sie gerne? Dann können Sie es hier tun, unterhalb der Kapelle. Die Badebucht von San Telmo ist nicht nur bei Urlaubern beliebt. Sie finden Cafes und Bars in der Nähe.

In Puerto de La Cruz finden Sie auch zwei Strände, die leicht zugänglich sind und zum Baden geeignet sind. Zum einen den Strand Playa Jardín, der mit einer Blütenpracht in der Umgebung und einem Blick auf den Teide verzaubert und zum anderen den Playa Martianez. Direkt an der Promenade sitzen Maler und Künstler, die Portraits von den Urlaubern malen oder einige Kunststücke vorführen. Puerto de La Cruz hat viel an Kultur und Festen, sowie Sehenswürdigkeiten und Freizeitmöglichkeiten zu bieten.

Vom Wein, alten Bäumen, Lavatunnel und Aussichten

Icod de los Vinos

Dieses kleine Städtchen liegt nur 15 Kilometer von Puerto de la Cruz entfernt. Es lebt vom Weinbau und hat daher auch seinen Namen erhalten. Icod de los Vinos hat über 24.000 Einwohner und ist sehr gut mit dem PKW erreichbar. Damit sich die Touristen auch wohl fühlen, wurde die Natur so belassen und nicht wie in anderen Städten „ausgebaut“. Um die Stadt herum befinden sich prächtige Pinienwälder. Von den terrassenförmigen Weinbergen aus ist das weite Blumenmeer ein unvergesslicher Anblick. Inmitten von umfangreichen Grünanlagen in der Stadt, findet man in den Gassen sehr viele historische Bauten, die auch zur Romantik einladend sind.
n Icod de los Vinos ist der angeblich älteste Baum der Welt, der Drachenbaum, auch „Drago Milenario“ genannt. Dieser Baum ist ca. 20 Meter hoch und hat einen Umfang von 6 Meter. Geschätzt wird er auf 600 bis 800 Jahre. Auf diesen Baum können die Bewohner von Icod de los Vinos auch stolz sein. Um ihn zu ehren, wurde ein Parkgarten um ihn herum errichtet, damit die Besucher dort verweilen und die Seele baumeln lassen können.
In der Gemeinde befindet sich auch die Cueva del Viento-Sobrado. Sie ist die größte Lavaröhre Europas und gilt nach den vier anderen auf Hawaii befindlichen als fünftgrößte Lavaröhre der Welt. Sie ist 17 Kilometer lang und in ihrem Inneren befinden sich eine Vielzahl unterirdischer Gänge.
Die Cueva del Viento entstand durch Lavaströme des Vulkankegels Pico Viejo neben dem Teide. Ein Lavatunnel ist ein Hohlraum, der im Inneren von Lavaströmen gebildet wird.

Gigantische Bergwelt. Schroff, wild und mächtig

Das Teno Gebirge

Das Teno-Gebirge (spanisch: Macizo de Teno) ist ein Gebirge im Nordwesten Teneriffas. Geologisch gehört das Gebirge zu den ältesten Teilen der Insel und erhebt sich bis zu einer Höhe von 1345 Meter. Es entstand vor 17 Millionen Jahren als selbständige Insel, infolge der Erosion blieben nur die relativ harten Gesteinsschichten aus rötlichem Trachit bestehen, die zum Teil von jüngeren Gesteinsgängen aus Basalt durchsetzt sind.

Das Gebirge ist von einer großen Zahl tiefer Schluchten (Barrancos) vulkanischen Ursprungs durchzogen, die steil zur Küste abfallen, wobei oft auf kürzester Entfernung Höhenunterschiede von mehr als 500 m entstehen.

Das Gebirge erstreckt sich zwischen den Ortschaften Santiago del Teide, Los Silos, El Tanque und Buenavista del Norte an der Küste. Innerhalb des Gebirges liegen verschiedene kleine Ortschaften wie Masca, Teno Alto, Los Carrizales, El Palmar, Las Portelas und Las Lagunetas, deren Bewohner überwiegend traditionelle Kanarische Landwirtschaft betreiben.

Durch mehrere Landstraßen, auf denen Überlandbusse verkehren, ist das Gebirge gut erschlossen.

Wie aus einer früheren Zeit

Das Anaga Gebirge

Tiefe Schluchten, einsame Bergketten und dazwischen der berühmte Mercedeswald, ein urwaldähnlicher Lorbeerwald. Das Anaga-Gebirge stellt ein Paradies für Naturliebhaber dar. Im Nordosten von Teneriffa ziehen sich die schroffen Berge bis zu einer Höhe von 1.000 Metern über dem Meeresspiegel in die Höhe und erschaffen eine einzigartige Landschaft mit einem ganz speziellen, subtropischen Klima.
Entdecken Sie das grüne und üppige Anaga-Gebirge am besten bei einer Wanderung und erfahren Sie auf uralten Pfaden mehr über den außergewöhnlichen Lorbeerwald. Ein Erlebnis der botanischen Art, welches nicht nur überzeugte Naturliebhaber und passionierte Wanderer begeistert. Das Anaga-Gebirge ist eine der ursprünglichsten und landschaftlich eindrucksvollsten Regionen von Teneriffa und sollte bei keinem Aufenthalt ausgelassen werden.

Der Lorbeerwald oder Nebelwald von Anaga ist wohl einmalig in Europa und sorgt mit seinen grün vermoosten Bäumen, den riesigen Farnen und einer zum Teil dichten Nebelkulisse für gespenstische Atmosphäre, besonders an trüben Tagen. Hier lässt es sich gut wandern durch eine angenehme Frische in der Luft.
Wer herrliche Natur erleben will und gerne wandert, der ist hier in den Lorbeerwäldern im Anaga-Gebirge genau richtig. Frische Luft und interessante, vielseitige Wanderwege garantiert. Die Wege sind gut ausgeschildert und auch ausgebaut.